10 Reasons to Read First Class Murder by Robin Stevens

First Class Murder

“Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are taking a holiday on the world-famous Orient Express – and it’s clear that each of their fellow first-class passengers has something to hide. Even more intriguing: there is rumour of a spy in their midst.

Then, during dinner, there is a scream from inside one of the cabins. When the door is broken down, a passenger is found murdered, her stunning ruby necklace gone. But the killer has vanished – as if into thin air.

Daisy and Hazel are faced with their first ever locked-room mystery – and with competition from several other sleuths, who are just as determined to crack the case.”

Here are my top ten reasons why you need to go and read First Class Murder!

  1. It is set on the Orient Express. Such an iconic train that immediately heralds images of adventure and mystery. A journey on the Orient Express is now firmly on my to do list.
  2. Hazel Wong and Daisy Wells just get better and better as characters in this book. I particularly liked the opportunity to learn more about Hazel’s family.
  3. A locked door mystery. I mean who doesn’t love a good locked door mystery?
  4. Research. You can really tell that Robin Stevens has done her research in this book. Evidence of this can be found in this blog post where she recounts a trip she took whilst researching for the book. After reading this I found myself with a little smile every time movement on the train was mentioned.
  5. Bun breaks. Nothing else makes me want to head to the bakery more.
  6. The plan of the sleeping car and dining car. I adore books with maps and plans that I have to flick back to.
  7. The characters. Such a rich and varied bunch. I so want to have a talk with the Countess and sit down and have a cup of tea with Hetty.
  8. It’s a page turner! As it is the summer holidays I have the luxury of being to read when I want which means I read this in a day as I could not put it down!
  9. Daisy’s Guide to the Orient Express is great for helping younger readers who may not be familiar with some of the vocabulary used in the book.
  10. The cover. This is the third in the series and I just adore the trio of covers that adorn my book case.
Leave a Reply

