Looking Back at 2015- Journaling with Children

journals

A small selection of my journals

I have kept a journal since I was at school and over my teaching career I have tried hard to share the wonderful gift it can be. I love rifling through old journals and having the past brought back to life. Memories and experiences are there on the page for me to savour, cringe at or cause me to have a giggle- ‘I wrote what?!’ I think it is so important to get kids making their own reflections and using it as a chance to celebrate all they have achieved, thinking back to special memories and remembering their friends.

Over the years I have also used my journal as a place to reflect and I think this is a great thing for both kids and adults to do. The end of the year feels like a natural opportunity to look back and also to think about the year to come.

christmas baubles.jpg

You and the kids can make the prompts as simple or as complicated as you like and there are lots of prompts online. There are also lots of templates as well but I am a big believer in letting the children create the journal page themselves or you could create the page together? It would be a lovely family project!

stationery.jpg

In my example I have kept to quite broad categories but some children might need quite specific prompts to help them focus in.

journal reflection pages

 

In the future:

  • use the same prompts every year! That way you and the children can see how life changes over time!
  • add pictures and doodles to illustrate the year.
  • do a family journal with each member of the family answering the prompt.

I would love to hear about any of your journaling experiences! Please leave me a comment, let me know on Instagram or Twitter or drop me an email. I always love to talk journaling!

p.s. I have written this with the view of journaling with children but I think this is an exercise that many adults would benefit from carrying out as well!

Leave a Reply

